AD&D 3rd Edition

On the advice of my fellow geek, Steve, I’ve decided to start up my blog once more… and use it to discuss the design and development of my pet project:

AD&D 3rd Edition Player’s Handbook
AD&D 3rd Edition Dungeon Master’s Guide

For those unfamiliar with my labor of love, here’s a quick explanation. AD&D 3 is my attempt to mesh the best elements of AD&D, Castles & Crusades and 3rd edition D&D into a cohesive, relatively rules-lite package.

Within the pages of AD&D 3rd Edition you’ll find the 7 player character races (humans, dwarves, elves, gnomes, half-elves, halflings and half-orcs) common to AD&D, Castles & Crusades and D&D 3.X, as well as 13 character classes taken from AD&D (including the Unearthed Arcana supplement) and Castles & Crusades. The 4 core classes are the cleric, fighter, magic-user and thief. The cleric has 2 subclasses; the bard and the druid. Fighters have 4 subclasses; the barbarian, cavalier, paladin and ranger. The illusionist is the sole subclass of the magic-user and assassin is a subclass of thief. Monks serve as an optional, 5th, core class.

Mechanically AD&D3 is a d20 lite game, drawing its inspiration from the SRD and Troll Lord Games’ excellent Castles & Crusades.

I’ll use this blog as a design journal; where I’ll go into further detail about AD&D3… describing my design choices and the reasoning behind those choices, providing rule updates as I tweak the rule pdfs, and wondering aloud as to what rules I’ll muck with next.

7 thoughts on “AD&D 3rd Edition

  1. Nice, thanks for putting that out there. I think lots of players are trying to find the perfect “mix of games” for them. The same motivation eventually created my version of my “perfect mix of games” at https://fyxtrpg.com . It’s also a d20 style system. Mine is a bit more focused on being a universal system so some things are boiled down a little more. Anyway, nice work and thanks for putting this out there!

  2. Dear Chris,

    “Zudrak” here. I have just rediscovered your blog and see that you’re now playing 5e. I have just returned to AD&D 3e with the books I printed about 5 years ago. I have tried returning to straight AD&D, but am finding some of it difficult to use compared to C&C. I’ve pretty much come back to where I was when you and I corresponded over the Troll Lord Games’ message boards in 2010.

    I am glad to see you gaming again and hope to see more cool stuff here. I have purchased 5e and found it ok. It’s not as bloated as 3e but still a little too easy-going for my preferences. If it were the only game in town, I would play it, though. Thankfully, I have the choice of your AD&D 3e or Primeless AD&D 3e.

    Happy gaming,
    Michael

    1. Thanks for the kind words. To be honest, I found 5th edition to be a little too fiddly too. That’s why I’ve been working (ever so slowly) on an “AD&D 5th edition” rule set. One of the things that I really like about 5th edition is that it de-emphasizes the need for magic items and cuts back on the numbers’ bloat of 3rd edition. I’m using those criteria to re-examine my rules and pare them down.

      1. Excellent! I look forward to that. I find myself vexing over “skill checks,” but an honest Original School player knows thieves had skill checks (%) before there was a d20 system. So I am less loathe to use them. I just dislike a game where everything a player tries to do is met the response, “Make a ____ check.” Taking 10 years off (1990-2000) is messing with my ability to find the AD&D/C&C happy medium. That’s where I’m thankful to have paid Lulu to print your AD&D 3e.

  3. Hey, Chris, I forgot to ask: Is this the best place to get news on your “AD&D 5th Edition” or do you have another place where you would update it?

    Just trying to keep my ear to the ground! 🙂

    Michael

Leave a Reply

